New Album "Chains Are Broken" Out August 24, 2018

The Devil Makes Three are set to return with Chains Are Broken on August 24th via New West Records.  The 11-song set was produced by Ted Hutt (Gaslight Anthem, Flogging Molly) and recorded at Sonic Ranch Studios in El Paso, TX.

Chains Are Broken is The Devil Makes Three’s first album of original material since 2013’s acclaimed I’m A Stranger Here, which debuted on the Billboard Top 200.  The new album follows their acclaimed 2016 collection of covers, Redemption & Ruin, which heralded the groups second #1 bow on the Billboard Top Bluegrass Albums Chart. 

Instead of their traditional revolving cast of collaborators in the studio, The Devil Makes Three stuck to its signature power trio of Pete Bernhard, Lucia Turino, and Cooper McBean - with one addition.  This time, they invited touring drummer Stefan Amidon to power the bulk of the percussion and his presence remains most amplified as the band seamlessly translated the spirit of their must see live show into a studio recording.  

Rolling Stone Country premiered the first music from Chains Are Broken with the song “Paint My Face” today.  They state, "'Paint My Face' reflects the extra rock & roll edge that Amidon, the band's touring drummer, brings to the equation, as the song is a crunch shuffle with a quivering, cascading electric guitar line."  They continue, "Despite its somewhat sinister tone, 'Paint My Face' is as much a song about rebirth, both spiritual and creative, as it is about death." Chains Are Broken will be available on CD, across digital retailers, standard black vinyl, as well as a limited edition cream & navy blue split colored vinyl LP available at Independent Retailers.  Chains Are Broken is available for preorder now in the band's webstore.


"Chains Are Broken"

Chains Are Broken Track Listing: 
1. Chains Are Broken
2. Pray For Rain
3. Paint My Face
4. Can’t Stop
5. Need To Lose
6. All Is Quiet
7. Bad Idea
8. Deep Down
9. Native Son
10. Castles  
11. Curtains Rise 

Sean Dore